Pemaquid Point Lighthouse 

two rectangles
The Pemaquid Point Lighthouse was built in 1827, President John Quincy Adams commissioned the building. The lighthouse was rebuilt in 1835 and is still standing to this day. Visitors are invited to walk through the Keeper's House, and to climb to the top of the lighthouse for a panoramic view of the surrounding Atlantic Ocean.
On the first floor of the Keeper's House is where the Fisherman's Museum is located. The Fisherman's Museum is full of historical data and artifacts from all aspects of the fishing industry in Bristol. At the museum visitors can learn about fishing in the 1800's from handwritten stories, and saved artifacts from some of Maine's local fishermen. In the museum there is also a log containing information, articles, and photographs of many of the ship wrecks that happened near the lighthouse. A learning center is available some days where locals teach hands on activities such as the forgotten art of net weaving, and fishing instruction. A gallery is also always on display for visitors to see art created by past and present locals.

Image may be subject to copyright
Image may be subject to copyright
Image may be subject to copyright
The Pemaquid Point Lighthouse is located at the entrance to Muscongus Bay and John's Bay. The Pemaquid Point Lighthouse is owned by the Bristol Park Commission along with the Pemaquid Point Park. Visitors can fly kits, take a picnic, and walk along the paths surrounding the lighthouse grounds. The park has a three dollar admissions fee, which includes the fee to enter the Fishermen's Museum, visit the Pemaquid Art Gallery, the Learning Center. and explore the lighthouse. Tickets are good for an entire day, visitors can leave and return with the same admission. Restrooms are available, as well as wifi.
The park facilities are open Monday through Sunday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. The park is open May through late October.